Call now: +49 89 538863-0

Sprache:

Case Study “Rent an AWS Cloud Engineer”

How can a medium-sized company use the cloud quickly, securely and efficiently?

A medium-sized Skaylink customer has a weakened IT workforce. Due to location disadvantages, it has recently become impossible to strengthen cloud expertise with new personnel. Nonetheless, the company’s management sees using the cloud – in this case, the AWS cloud – as vital for the company. It has set a goal to bring cloud expertise to the company in a scalable and cost-effective way.

The IT employees are caught between a rock and a hard place

The business needs support from AWS in the area of development and usage. Internal IT cannot provide this satisfactorily in the short or medium term. IT management and operations managers face a dilemma: Do they let the business use cloud services without IT support, risking vulnerabilities and potential misconfigurations? Or do they block cloud usage at the expense of their own company’s competitiveness and put the brakes on innovation in business? The resulting “caught between a rock and a hard place” situation is a problem in the organization, which leads to further tension and ultimately affects the entire IT process.

Adrian Wnek
Principal Cloud Consultant Skaylink

“In this extremely near-term project with high expectations, both the objective results from the AWS Quick Check and the subjective impressions and evaluations of the employees are included in the review.
A respectful treatment of all stakeholders and consideration of their respective perspectives and obstacles assisted in this process. After all, it is also the case that employees know very well what’s going wrong – but they also need support in formulating and presenting this appropriately so that it helps everyone involved.”

Don’t delay!

Standards, coupled with best practices, accelerate the process

Our customer wanted to approach the topic with great sensitivity to costs. Therefore, we used several approaches simultaneously to achieve a significant added value for the customer’s enterprise overall. First, the problem of the lack of technical experience was resolved using our “Rent an AWS Cloud Engineer” concept. We provided the customer with expertise through a shared DevOps team.
This allowed the IT department to offer their business area AWS Architectures and Solutions. The company had immediate access to experts that were able to solve complex issues involving data protection, solutions architecture, and IT security, and they were also able to answer organizational questions.
Our “Sleep Well” approach ensured regular auditing of mutually agreed IT security and governance and compliance adherence throughout the entire AWS environment. In short: IT management and operations managers could sleep easy at night once again.

Due to the customer’s price sensitivity, different skill levels were used in line with the specific requirements of the respective department. With the AWS Evergreen approach included in our service agreement, the customer was able to take advantage of a back-and-forth exchange. This allowed them to ask questions directly and without complications and to obtain new AWS cloud knowledge. Developments were discussed and questions were answered in a monthly meeting with selected customers. This kept all participants up-to-date on the current status of what was affecting their AWS environment. All of these components together resulted in an optimal solution for all customer levels. And the best part? The ramp-up was completed in just a few days.

The solution

Positive effects of collaboration

  • Customer managers were able to solve many of their problems with our help.
  • Management was visibly put at ease, since we keep an eye on IT security in the AWS Cloud, meaning that the business is never left to its own devices.
  • The business has skilled contacts at the appropriate level. Thanks to the partnership, IT management also has access to skilled experts for all their digitalization issues.
  • Because of the tight IT budget situation during the implementation period, the reasonable Skaylink prices are an optimal solution.
  • The AWS Evergreen exchange has created an important communication platform that allows customers to interact on an equal footing. It allows them to quickly ask questions and get information – without having to purchase additional consulting services.

Details at a glance

  1. Stable and secure AWS landing zone as a platform for 40 projects, with the security experts at Skaylink always keeping an eye on things.
  2. In the medium-term, the internal team will only be expanded by one position – the liaison for the cloud projects.
  3. A solid partnership with exciting spin-offs grew out of the planned three months of project time.

Ensuring quick readiness of cloud solutions

  • The varying requirements of a customer’s diverse business areas require different skill levels from the supporting AWS engineers. However, all these different people also need to be under a central control and management structure to generate the greatest added value.
  • Often, customers – particularly medium-sized companies – are under so much pressure that it is simply not possible to review SLAs, contracts and service offerings. Here, lean agreements on equal footing have proven advantageous. After all, speed and the fastest operational readiness possible are crucial for many companies.

The end of the project is only the beginning

After a solid collaboration as partners, during which we were able to meet a wide range of business requirements, the opportunity arose for further important optimizations:

  1. A service manager/project manager coordinates all activities for the customers involving the cloud and reports directly to IT management. This takes further pressure off the IT department.
  2. The struggle to attract talent in the cloud arena has now been tackled in partnership with Skaylink. The aim is to create attractive framework conditions that attract new talent.
  3. Some of the business stakeholders have expressed a desire to include specific AWS expertise in their sprints and their implementation so that they can implement more worthwhile projects faster in coordination with IT.

Adrian Wnek
Principal Cloud Consultant Skaylink

“Complicated structures, extensive best practices and different offers often unsettle customers, since familiarization and decision-making take up valuable time. We’ve listened to our customers and created a viable and fast solution with our “Rent a Cloud Engineer” approach that brings customers into the cloud easily, quickly and securely. At the same time, our approach creates the opportunity for IT and business to join forces – and thus leads to a cloud journey based on partnership.

Further Case Studies

No post found

Case Study „Rent an AWS Cloud Engineer“

Wie kann der Mittelstand schnell, sicher und effizient die Cloud nutzen?

Ein mittelständischer Skaylink-Kunde hat eine geschwächte IT-Personalbesetzung. Wegen Standortnachteilen ist es zuletzt unmöglich geworden, die Cloud-Expertise mit neuem Personal zu stärken. Dennoch sieht die Unternehmensleitung die Nutzung der Cloud – hier: AWS-Cloud – als für das Unternehmen lebensnotwendig an. Sie hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Cloud-Expertise skalierbar und kostengünstig ins Unternehmen zu bringen.

Die IT-Mitarbeitenden stehen zwischen den Stühlen

Das Business braucht im Bereich Entwicklung und Nutzung Unterstützung von AWS. Die interne IT kann dieses Angebot kurz- und mittelfristig nicht zufriedenstellend liefern. Die IT-Leitung und Betriebsverantwortliche stehen vor einem Dilemma: Lässt man das Business Cloud-Services ohne IT-Unterstützung nutzen und riskiert somit Schwachstellen und potenzielle Fehlkonfigurationen? Oder blockiert man die Cloud-Nutzung auf Kosten der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des eigenen Unternehmens und bremst Innovation im Business aus? Das damit verbundene Zwischen-zwei-Stühlen-Stehen ist ein Problem in der Organisation, was zu weiteren Spannungen führt und letztlich den gesamten IT-Ablauf beeinträchtigt.

Adrian Wnek
Principal Cloud Consultant Skaylink

„In diesem sehr kurzfristigen Projekt mit einer hohen Erwartungshaltung wurden sowohl die objektiven Ergebnisse aus dem AWS Quick Check, als auch die subjektiven Eindrücke und Bewertungen der Mitarbeitenden in das Review aufgenommen.
Dabei half ein respektvoller Umgang mit allen Stakeholdern und Beachtung ihrer jeweiligen Perspektiven und Hürden. Denn auch hier gilt: Mitarbeiter wissen sehr gut, was schiefläuft – sie benötigen jedoch Unterstützung, um es zu formulieren und angemessen zu präsentieren, so dass es allen Seiten hilft.“

Nicht lange fackeln!

Standards gekoppelt mit Best Practices beschleunigen den Prozess

Da unser Kunde das Thema kostensensitiv angehen wollte, nutzten wir gleich mehrere Ansätze, um in Summe einen deutlichen Mehrwert für ihn zu erreichen. Zum einen wurde das Problem des fehlenden Know-hows mittels unseres Konzeptes „Rent an AWS Cloud Engineer“ gelöst. Mit einem Shared DevOps-Team haben wir dem Kunden Expertise zur Verfügung gestellt.
Auf diese Weise konnte die IT-Abteilung ihrem Business-Bereich AWS-Architekturen und -Solutions anbieten. Das Unternehmen hatte unmittelbar Zugriff auf Expert*innen, die komplexen Fragestellungen bezüglich Datenschutz, Lösungsarchitektur und IT-Security lösen sowie organisatorische Fragestellungen beantworten konnten.
Mit unserem „Sleep Well“-Ansatz stellten wir die regelmäßige Prüfung der vereinbarten IT-Security und Governance/Compliance-Einhaltung innerhalb der gesamten AWS-Umgebung sicher. Kurzum: Die IT-Leitung wie auch die Betriebsverantwortlichen konnten nachts wieder ruhig schlafen.

Aufgrund der Preissensitivität des Kunden wurden unterschiedliche Skill-Level entsprechend der spezifischen Anforderung des jeweiligen Fachbereichs eingesetzt. Mit unserem im Service-Agreement enthaltenen „AWS Evergreen“-Ansatz nutzte der Kunde die Gelegenheit zum gemeinsamen Austausch. Dabei konnte er unkompliziert und direkt Fragen stellen und sich mit neuem AWS-Cloud-Wissen versorgen. In einem monatlichen Termin mit ausgewählten Kunden werden Entwicklungen besprochen und Fragen beantwortet. So bleiben alle Teilnehmenden stets auf dem aktuellen Stand, was ihre AWS-Umgebung betrifft. Die Summe all dieser Bestandteile ergab eine optimale Lösung für alle Kundenebenen. Und das Beste? Der Ramp-up erfolgte in nur wenigen Tagen.

Die Lösung

Positive Effekte der Zusammenarbeit

  • Mit unserer Hilfe konnten die Kundenverantwortlichen viele ihrer Probleme lösen:
  • Die Leitungsfunktionen waren sichtlich beruhigt, da wir die IT-Security in der AWS-Cloud im Blick haben und das Business somit nicht allein gelassen wird.
  • Das Business hat kompetente Kontaktpersonen auf dem passenden Level. Auch die IT-Leitung hat dank der Partnerschaft Zugriff auf kompetente Expert*innen für alle ihre Fragestellungen zur Digitalisierung.
  • Wegen der angespannten IT-Budgetlage im Realisierungszeitraum sind die fairen Skaylink-Preise eine optimale Lösung.
  • Mit dem AWS-Evergreen-Austausch ist eine wichtige Kommunikationsplattform entstanden, die dem Kunden die Interaktion auf Augenhöhe ermöglicht. Sie erlaubt es ihm, schnell Fragen zu platzieren und Informationen einzuholen – ohne weitere Beratungsleistungen einkaufen zu müssen.

Details auf einen Blick

  1. Stabile und sichere AWS Landing Zone als Plattform für 40 Projekte, immer im Blick der Security-Expert*innen von Skaylink.
  2. Das interne Team wurde mittelfristig um nur eine Stelle erweitert – als Bindeglied zu den Cloud-Projekten.
  3. Aus den geplanten drei Monaten Projektzeit entstand eine feste Partnerschaft mit spannenden Spin-offs.

Schnelle Einsatzbereitschaft von Cloud-Lösungen sicherstellen

  • Die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der verschiedenen Business-Bereiche eines Kunden erfordern unterschiedliche Skill-Level der unterstützenden AWS-Engineers. Jedoch müssen all diese verschiedenen Personen auch unter einer zentralen Steuerung und Verwaltung stehen , um den größten Mehrwert zu erzeugen.
  • Häufig stehen Kunden – vor allem im Mittelstand – derart unter Druck, dass es schlichtweg nicht möglich ist, SLAs, Verträge und Service-Offerings zu reviewen. Hier haben sich schlanke Vereinbarungen auf Augenhöhe als vorteilhaft bewährt. Denn Geschwindigkeit und schnellstmögliche Einsatzbereitschaft ist für viele Unternehmen entscheidend.

Das Projektende ist erst der Anfang

Nach einer soliden partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit, bei der wir die unterschiedlichsten Business-Anforderungen bedienen konnten, ergab sich die Chance auf weitere wichtige Optimierungen:

  1. Ein Servicemanager/Projektleiter koordiniert alle Aktivitäten für den Kunden im Bereich Cloud und berichtet direkt an die IT-Leitung. Somit kann die IT weiter entlastet werden.
  2. Der Kampf um Talente im Cloud-Bereich wurde nun gemeinsam mit Skaylink angegangen. So sollen attraktive Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen werden, die neue Talente anziehen.
  3. Einige der Business-Stakeholder haben den Wunsch geäußert, spezielle AWS-Expertise in ihre Sprints und deren Umsetzung aufzunehmen, um so in Abstimmung mit der IT lohnende Projekte schneller umsetzen zu können.

Adrian Wnek
Principal Cloud Consultant Skaylink

„Komplexe Strukturen, umfangreiche Best Practices und unterschiedliche Angebote verunsichern Kunden häufig – denn Einarbeitung und Entscheidungsfindung kostet wertvolle Zeit. Wir haben unseren Kunden zugehört und mit unserem „Rent a Cloud Engineer“-Ansatz eine praktikable und schnelle Lösung geschaffen, die Kunden einfach, schnell und sicher in die Cloud führt. Gleichzeitig eröffnet unser Ansatz die Chance auf einen Schulterschluss zwischen IT und Business – und führt so zu einer partnerschaftlichen Cloud Journey.

Weitere Case Studies

Starten wir gemeinsam in die Zukunft

Unsicher, wohin die digitale Reise bei Ihnen führen soll? Unsere Expert*innen stehen Ihnen gerne unverbindlich für Ihre Fragen zur Verfügung!

Einfach das nebenstehende Formular ausfüllen und wir melden uns umgehend bei Ihnen.